Permission groups may be modified if the user is given Modify permission in the Group Permissions tab grid for Directories > Permission Groups. When permission to modify Permission Groups is granted, the user can modify all permission groups, including ones where they are not a member. A group’s name, members, active status and permission to Needles functions can all be changed when the Permission Groups Modify check box is selected.
Individual Staff permissions always override any permissions set forth in Permission Groups. Changes made in the Permission Groups Directory can easily be transferred to an individual Staff by setting the Staff Directory Permissions to Inherit from Permissions Group(s). [link to Staff Permissions – Permissions Key & Reset]
To modify a permission group name:
The Permission Group Name will be changed in all areas of Needles that use that group name.
To modify a permission group status:
When a permission group is marked inactive and changes have been saved, the group members and permissions for that group will remain unchanged in the Permission Groups Directory, however, the group will not be listed in the Staff Directory > Permissions tab for staff members of that inactive group.
The Selected Staff and Available Staff grids are displayed in the right-hand pane, above the Group Permissions tab and allow you to move available active staff into the Selected Staff grid making them a member of that permission group.
To add staff to a Permission Group,
button
to move the selected staff to the Selected Staff grid. You can also
use drag and drop to move the selected staff.To remove staff from a Permission Group,
button
to move the selected staff to the Available Staff grid. You can also
use drag and drop to move the selected staff from one grid to the
other.Multiple staff may be added or removed at one time.
The Selected and Available Staff grids can be collapsed using the arrow
expander
to save screen space and allow viewing of more rows in the permissions
grid.